2016 Highlights

New Year’s Eve. I’ve spent most of today alone, I have a glass of Prosecco in hand, and I’m a blogger, so it’s impossible to avoid reflecting on the past twelve months.

2016 has generally been considered a difficult year. I tried to write about this a couple of weeks ago, but didn’t post as I can’t contribute anything you haven’t already heard to the conversation.

It’s been a tough year on a global scale and a personal one: the death of my gran back in May left me grieving, but also sorry that I wasn’t able to spend more time with her in the year previous, having made the decision to move away.

However, dwelling on things we can’t change gets us nowhere; we should learn from them. I won’t forget this year’s issues, as they’ll be equally important next year, but I’ve spent so much time trying to make sense of the difficult things that for now, the last day of the year, I’d like to be positive.

I’ll start off big: 2016 was the year I fell in love. (Actually, it probably happened last year, but this was when I admitted it!) Moving in together was a big step and luckily it turned out to be the right one. I can’t write anything else that doesn’t sound sickly sweet, so I’ll leave it there.

Decorating the tree! #December #Christmas #tree #elf #decorations #winter #lbloggers #tiger

A post shared by Lauren (@wakeupyourluck) on

 

This year saw the first of my best friends get married in a beautiful wedding. She is so happy, and I’m so happy for her. Another friend just bought a flat. One has just met someone new. Every one of them has had their difficulties this year, so I am grateful for all the good things, and hope many more follow next year.

My sister has had a brilliant year, settling into her new job and new flat with a nice man, and going on a lovely holiday. What more could you ask for? After years of trying different things, I’m glad she has this stability now.

It is difficult being away from my family and many of my friends, but it means the time we do spend together is quality time, and conversations are proper catch-ups. I’m going to try to be organised next year and arrange a Skype call every Sunday to keep up with everyone better. Plus I mentioned (at least twice) to every friend I saw over Christmas that they are always welcome to come and visit anytime.

I also plan to take responsibility for arranging more with my friends who live here next year. Everyone is so busy that it is easy for weeks to pass without seeing some of them, but it’s always so fun when we do meet up that it would be great to do more. One of my favourite photos of the whole year was from FriendsFest, where we are sitting on the Friends sofa with multicoloured umbrellas.

Here’s to more unlimited pizza and Prosecco, Sundays watching Pretty Little Liars, trips to the theatre, escape rooms, concerts, being a tourist, weddings, VIP days, book launches and afternoon teas.

 

Here’s to appreciating the little things: good books, home-cooked meals, days off, fairy lights, chocolate, comfy bedding and keeping a basil plant alive for four months. (Oh yes. Unfortunately he won’t see the New Year though.)

Here’s to a kinder 2017, helping others when we can, listening more and sharing the love.

I hope you have lots of good memories to look back on, and wish you a very happy 2017.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2 thoughts on “2016 Highlights

  1. Helen Teal nee Tofts says:

    Happy new year Lauren xxx with love, Helen xxx

    Sent from my Windows Phone ________________________________

Leave a Comment

