16 in 2016: Results

Since it is now the second day of 2017, it is probably time (ahem, a little late) to look at the progress (or otherwise) of my 16 goals for 2016.

Some were no problem: visiting new places, seeing new shows, reading two books per month – easy! (Although I didn’t do the best job of keeping track as I went along, so there was a bit of trawling through my photos to remember everything.)

I have updated my 16 in 2016 list here if you want to have a look, but some standout memories were:

The new-to-me shows I’ve seen this year – all seventeen of them!

Dublin. We went here for a long weekend to see Postmodern Jukebox. The band was absolutely amazing, Dublin Zoo was a brilliant day out and the Guinness Storehouse is easily one of the best tourist attractions I’ve ever visited. We also saw the Long Room at Trinity College – a bibliophile’s paradise.

My friend’s hen do and wedding. A group of 22 of us went to Puerto Banús for my friend’s hen do. They were a brilliant group of women, and we had such a nice weekend. The wedding was completely beautiful.

St Paul’s Cathedral. I had wanted to visit since moving here, and it was as stunning inside as outside.

St Paul's sunny

St Paul’s

Cork and Bottle. This restaurant is hidden away downstairs in Leicester Square, and has all the cheese and wine you could wish for.

Tattershall Castle. Easily my favourite pub-on-a-boat (even if I could think of another).

Greenwich. This is my favourite part of London. I spent so much time there in 2016 because it doesn’t feel like you’re in London (!), it’s very green with its gorgeous park, and it has great pubs. I also went to the Cutty Sark with my parents on a gorgeous sunny day, and got some fantastic photos.

#CuttySark #Greenwich #London #lbloggers #pov #porthole #tourist #travel #travelbloggers

A post shared by Lauren (@wakeupyourluck) on

 

My birthday was a special day – one thoughtful surprise after another.

My sister’s visit. On the agenda were ridiculously expensive, though beautiful, cocktails at Aqua Shard, and the House of MinaLima, where we saw artwork from Harry Potter.

A weekend at home. Lots of shows at the Fringe, followed by a drive to Luss by Loch Lomond – two completely contrasting days, but both brilliant.

IMG_20160821_222817

Music. I mentioned before that Postmodern Jukebox were amazing, but so were Nina Nesbitt, the Goo Goo Dolls and the amazing Nashville cast.

Staying over at London Zoo. I’m still in the middle of a post about this, but I booked a night in the Lion Lodge at London Zoo for my boyfriend’s birthday, because he loves animals. He must have been here a hundred times as a kid, but staying over was a new experience! ZSL do brilliant work, and it was so exciting to see behind the scenes.

Books

I’ve read some brilliant books this year, so it’s difficult to pick favourites, but here goes:

  • All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. Joyful and tragic all at once.
  • The Throne of Glass series. I am just obsessed with these. The five sizeable books already published took up a fair amount of my reading time this year, but I didn’t mind a bit.
  • The Spinster Club series by Holly Bourne. I just love these characters.
  • An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth. This really made me want to read more non-fiction this year.
  • The Fate of the Tearling. The more I think about this book, the more I realise how many unanswered questions there were! I still loved it though.

I didn’t achieve some goals that were entirely possible and would have been fun: three day trips, making a scrapbook and taking a chocolate tour. How?! My running goal was set aside when I quit the gym.

Completely unsurprisingly, it was difficult to measure if I achieved my vague goals, but I definitely eat a better variety of healthier food now, and I managed to save way more than anticipated, so these are good developments.

And while I definitely took at least one photo a week, I didn’t even manage to post once a week on Instagram, which would have been the ideal way to keep track of this goal!

Overall, I managed 9/16 goals. (Nine seems to be my average!)

2017

So what are my goals for 2017? Well, I think I’m having a little change of structure. The blog began with 13 goals in 2013, continuing in the same vein until 16 goals in 2016. This year, though, rather than setting 17 goals for the sake of it and forgetting half of them, I think I’ll set monthly goals. These will be easier to keep track of, and will provide a little more motivation, stopping me from thinking ‘I have a year to do this; it can wait a bit!’

I have decided that my only goal for January is to set no goals. (That’s either succeeding or failing right away.) January is a horrible month to start things; I don’t know who put it at the beginning of the year.

Despite taking the month off when it comes to goals, I’ll hopefully be posting a little more than in December – I’ll still be reading new books and visiting new places, so it’s time to use all these opinions and photos to create more content!

Have you set any goals for 2017 yet?

Leave a Comment

