30 Before 30 So Far

When I realised it was thirty months until I’m thirty, it seemed like the perfect opportunity to jump on the 30-things-I’d-like-to-do-before-I’m-30 bandwagon.

I had a look at my bucket list and tried to think what else I would like to achieve, but I can’t come up with thirty interesting things to realistically aim for in two-and-a-half years. In one way this was a good thing, though: some of the common choices – like learning a language or going to Paris – I’d already done.

So instead, I thought I would take stock of thirty brilliant things that my younger self might have wanted to do. (Or didn’t even realise she would want to do.)  It’s great to have things to strive for, but it’s also nice to look back and remember the good stuff.

Passed my driving test.

Failed at something. (Also my driving test.)

Wrote a novel (but it was awful).

Visited a volcano.

Went on a camel ride.

Stood in three countries at once – the Netherlands, Germany and Belgium.

Sailed into the mist at Niagara Falls.

Went white water rafting.

Went to university (twice).

Lived in France and Spain.

Learned a language. (Learned two, studied two more.)

Did a different job. (Well, ten, but only one testing a different career – teaching).

Moved somewhere I didn’t know anyone.

Moved abroad without a job. Moved another time without a place to live. Moved another time without a place to live or a job, and figured it out when I got there.

Lived with strangers. Lived with friends. Lived with a boyfriend.

Did a road trip across the USA and visited 16 states on the way. (Or, ‘Saved hard and spent it at once.’)

Hiked into the Grand Canyon.

Been in a helicopter (twice).

Went to a drive-in movie.

Sang karaoke on Beale Street, Memphis.

Saw the New York skyline in real life.

Went to Disneyland Paris.

Had a drink in an ice bar.

Been on the Hogwarts Express (or, visited the Warner Brothers’ Harry Potter Studio Tour).

Met some of my favourite authors. And David Hasselhoff.

Saw some of my favourite bands or singers in concert – McFly and Taylor Swift to name two.

Saw musicals in the West End and on Broadway.

Visited eleven countries (counting the UK as one, which it isn’t really).

Got a job I love.

Fell in love.

*

It’s been not too shabby so far!

2 thoughts on “30 Before 30 So Far

  1. Wow lauren…you are really living your life…brilliant xx Robertson through and through xxxx

    Sent from my Windows Phone ________________________________

Leave a Comment

