Excuses for Not Blogging

I don’t have time. (Because I just spent an hour going from one form of social media to the other. Not even interacting, just seeing posts other people have liked and comments that make me despair.)

I don’t have the energy. (OK, this is often true, but some people seem to manage to hold down full-time jobs, look after kids and elderly relatives, keep a – presumably – clean house, maintain some semblance of a social life, read all the newest releases, see all the TV shows everyone is talking AND blog weekly.)

The flat is too messy and I must tidy it. (Or at least I should sit and think about how much it needs tidied without getting distracted by blogging.)

I accidentally started watching another show on Netflix and I need to know what happens. Only 107 episodes to go.

I’ll listen to three songs from Beauty of the Beast, then I’ll be in a good mood for blogging. (The entire soundtrack later: I am torn between my good mood and guilt for not blogging.)

I need to bake! I still haven’t mastered the chocolate chip cookie yet. And that will provide some material for a post, so it still counts. (90 minutes later: Well, these cookies suck, so…)

I’ll finish this book and review it. (I will never review it.)

My words aren’t working. (Maybe some practice will help?)

My nails need filed/my fringe is in my eyes/it’s too sunny/it’s not bright enough/I’m hungry, etc.

I have no ideas! (All those things I’ve done and places I’ve been? How about a list of excuses instead?)

6 thoughts on “Excuses for Not Blogging

  1. I relate to this one so many levels. I keep meaning to post in my blog and then something always comes up. I don’t know how people keep track of so many things. I can barely maintain my job and a proper sleep schedule.

    • You have amazing discipline! I have no good excuses any longer, as I think I have a near perfect schedule for blogging twice a week. (Never every day! The only things I manage every day are showering and brushing my teeth!)

      • I am aiming for 500 followers by the end of the year. So it is important that I keep up with my blog. It is so nice being on summer break and trying to see if I can find I way to promote it further

      • Good luck! I am sure you will get there. The great thing about social media is that there are so many ways to drive people to your site – if you can put in the time and effort, which you’re doing!

Leave a Comment

