London Bridge

In the past fortnight, I’ve cried for hundreds of strangers who have lost children and loved ones, including in a despicable attack at a funeral.

Last night, things were closer to home. This time meant checking that friends were OK. It meant a sleepless night waiting for my boyfriend, working for the emergency services, to come home. My heart breaks for the people whose loved ones did not.

I’m running out of words in response to these attacks that keep happening all over the world. I have read a lot of other people’s words since last night – lovely words about our emergency services, even funny words, as Brits react with the dark humour that is part of how we deal with difficult situations.

There have also been comments that have made me want to keep away from social media for the rest of the day, as some people don’t realise that they are creating divisions among those who actually want the same things. There is no simple solution, no matter how much people wish that there were, or how much I would like to be wrong on this.

It is scary. There are moments when I think that if I thought about it too much, I might never leave the house. Yet if this fear stops you from living as you want to, isn’t this another life lost?

I wish this didn’t have to be said, but I hope you have a safe week. I hope you see kindness, and show it. And I hope you spend time with your loved ones, and don’t take it for granted.

3 thoughts on “London Bridge

  1. mphadventuregirl says:

    To be honest, I may care about what is happening in the world, but I just do not want to watch the news or even read about it either. I think news needs to do a better job of what it shows. I want there be a balance between the bad and the good news. I am tired of news only mainly focusing on anything tragic going on because those are not the only things happening in the world right now

    • Lauren, Wake Up Your Luck says:

      They must report on these events, but I agree that only covering bad news isn’t good for our collective well-being. And how each outlet covers it is so often (always?) biased; they have a lot of control over public opinion, which they really need to take responsibility for. But that’s a whole other issue.

Leave a Comment

